RSS

Shopping for Natural Products Online: Baby Kids and Adults

11 Jul

When I first started my business I wondered how I could possibly sell natural products online since the online experience is usually quite limited. For starters, you can’t touch or smell the products, so how can customers really know what they are buying?

Shopping Online Requires Good Product Descriptions

The first thing I realized was all of my products needed really good product descriptions. Pictures were a must but there were so many other details I had to make sure I included. With over 600 products now, I am still tweaking my products -even after 2 years of being open!

Some descriptions of the natural products I sell are things like product size and full ingredient listings. I am surprised by sites like Well.ca that don’t have ingredient listings for some of their products. “Paraben-free” or “Contains no SLS” just isn’t good enough!

Not Jumping on the ‘Organic’ Train

It didn’t take me long to realize that it’s not all about ‘Organic’. So many products out there are called ‘Organic’ but are mixed in with toxic chemicals anyways! The standards out there on labeling are pretty lax and really, if you contain some organic ingredients you can get away with calling your product organic – silly isn’t it?

I decided to call my products what they are: Non-Toxic and Chemical-Free. By Chemical-Free I am referring to man-made synthetic chemicals that are known to cause a variety of health problems such as, but not limited to: allergies, skin irritations, cancer, hormonal disruptions, blindness, aquatic and wildlife contamination, neurological conditions and effects, respiratory problems, migraines and other health issues.

Being Honest About My ‘Natural’ Products

Am I perfect in the products I offer to customers? No. I am not a scientist and have been in many debates with scientists and chemists about the safety of chemicals that the government seems to think is ok. I do not claim to be an expert – I’m simply a mom who did some research for two years and built a product line of products that do not contain those harmful chemicals – simple.

I’ve had to drop a few product lines over the last two years when new information about their ingredients were learned. Some companies in the beginning put artificial fragrance in their products without telling me – but since I am super-sensitive to synthetic fragrance and I test everything I sell, I quickly discovered the ingredients when my hands broke out in a rash! If the products don’t fit our guidelines, they don’t get sold in the store!

Special Deals for Customers Who Want Natural Products

I don’t think natural and chemical-free products should have to cost 3x more than is reasonable! Many stores jack the price thinking that customers expect to pay a premium. To me, that is 100% BS! I’m a mom who always wants the best price out there – sure, if it’s a bit more costly I’ll pay it but if I don’t have to why would I?

My prices are average I would say, if not lower than what big competition would offer. I have put all my products on sale and don’t see nearly the kind of profit most other businesses do. But – I believe in people being able to afford good chemical-free products for themselves and their children. I’ve lowered all the prices again this week, for summer sales and offer competitive shipping rates.

Occasionally I’m told my shipping rates are too high, but those customers think shipping should only be  few bucks. What they don’t realize is the smallest package I ship, even to my local area, will cost almost $7. A couple provinces away, it will cost around $12. I only charge $6.95 for local shipments and for the rest of Canada I charge $9.95. So yes, I usually lose money on shipping, especially because the box and packing materials cost around $1.50 each.

Successful Online Business: Natural Products for Baby Kids and Adults

Natural e GREEN: Natural Products Store

Natural e GREEN: Natural Products Store

Is my business a success? I would say so. I am not rich and do not really plan on being rich. But the bills are paid and we are not wanting for anything. I am able to offer over 600 products to my customers (baby kids and adults) across North America at darn good prices and for reasonable shipping. Plus, I’m able to use the same products for my family.

So yes, I would say the business is a success. It is my job and keeps the income going and it helps others find the products they want for the prices they can afford. It gives me peace of mind knowing I’m doing the best I can for my kids and myself and gives me personal satisfaction with each new thing I learn.

Success is not always measured in dollars, it’s how you feel at the end of the day!

You can always shop at our store and even read our articles for more information on chemicals and products that are safe. Learn about sunscreens and how they damage the environment and see how you can choose eco-friendly products. This summer we offer up to 35% lower prices than list and free shipping on orders over $150. Yes – a good chunk of that money comes out of my pocket in the end, but at least I can sleep easy and feel good about who I am and what I do for others!  If you like Natural e GREEN and our store, please like us on facebook, tweet us, +1 us and even vote for us for the Eco-Edge Award that we’ve been nominated for (details on our site!)

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Shopping for Natural Products Online: Baby Kids and Adults

  1. Depression definition

    August 3, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    good post, added you to my RSS reader.
    My blog is about Depression definition.

     

Leave a Reply

 
